Oct 072016


Never underestimate a guitar player making his way through the non-metallic, unregulated, mainstream/commercial music industry! Especially, if he’s played and starred in PRONG back in the day! Amidst Monte Pittman’s September 23rd “Inverted Grasp of Balance” release through Metal Blade Records, we are reminded that whether Pittman is playing alongside universal sensation Madonna, or in one of his many international collaborations, his musical core is as metallic as ever. The album, featuring 12 diverse tracks, is brutally melodic, structured and complex, and is driven by a multitude of blazing guitar riff & shred dynamics. All this is captured with an honest sense of intensity and dedication that signifies Pittman’s commitment towards the songwriting process.

As Pittman explains, “I planned on it all being heads down thrashing, but I’ve always liked a variety of music and sounds. The beautiful, plaintive parts snuck in and gave the album a nice dynamic. I wanted it to be a record that just pulverizes you for an hour, but having a lighter side in places gives it more balance.”

Considering Pittman’s acclaimed career spent dealing out musical balance for the masses, and now with the release of his 4th full length album, “Inverted Grasp of Balance,” Monte Pittman sits solidly on the same bus among many of Heavy Metal’s top brass! No tour dates have been announced up to this point, so let’s hope some 2017 dates will be announced soon.monte72-dsc_1347

Join us today as we celebrate the release of Monte Pittman’s new album, “Inverted Grasp of Balance!” We’ll be playing a different “Rocking Friday” choice cut at 20 minutes after the hour all day long (unless a UTFH repeat is airing) on 420Radio.org!


Urb Thrasher


Monte Pittman

Metal Blade Records

Purchase “Inverted Grasp of Balance” here


Inverted Grasp Of Balance track-listing
1. Panic Attack
2. Arisen in Broad Daylight
3. Guilty Pleasure
4. The Times Are Changing
5. Double Edged Sword
6. Cadabra
7. Pride Comes Before the Fall
8. California
9. Be Very Afraid
10. Obliterated
11. Skeleton Key
12. New Blood Keeps Us Alive

Enjoy “Pride Becomes the Fall” below